The 2012 Soul Train Awards is a celebration of the Soul Train Brand and the hottest artists in R&B, Hip-Hop and Classic Soul music. 

This year the highly known show was hosted by Cedric the Entertainer at Planet Hollywood Live in Las Vegas and aired on BET and Centric.

Tony Rock and Reality Star Tamar Braxton hosted the Red Carpet Pre-Show.



This year’s show served as a tribute and celebration of Don Cornelius, the innovative mind who created Soul Train and influenced the music industry.

Celebrities from music, film, sports and television joined the celebration of the 2012 Soul Train Awards… Jamie Foxx, Earvin ‘Magic’ Johnson, Melanie Fiona, Jodey Watley, Doug E. Fresh and more!

Nominated artists included R&B superstar Usher with a Soul Train Awards history of five nominations, R&B veteran R. Kelly, Ladies man Trey Songz, Rappers Nas and Wale… The late Whitney Houston and Amy Winehouse were both honoured with nominations. 



R&B group New Edition, were honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award and yes all six of them were present to accept the award… Further to accepting their award they performed hit songs ‘Candy Girl’, ‘Mr. Telephone Man’ and ‘If It Isn’t Love’.

The show was filled with great performances from a number of artists including NeYo, Fantasia, Miguel, 2 Chainz, Charlie Wilson, John Legend, Raphael Saadiq and Anthony Hamilton.



Keyshia Cole performed songs from her latest album ‘Woman to Woman’ – ‘Trust and Believe’ and ‘Enough of No Love’.

Let’s make it OFFICIAL… R&B group TGT consisting of Tyrese, Ginuwine and Tank gave us a dose of what to expect as they are on a mission to bring back the good ol’ vibes… yes that old school real R&B music the industry is missing!!!



X-Factor contestant Marcus Canty delivered a Luther Vandross tribute, singing ‘Never Too Much’… And Stevie Wonder closed the show with ‘Superstitious’ followed by a performance of ‘Signed, Sealed, Delivered’, in celebration of re-elected U.S. President Barack Obama.


The 2012 Soul Train Awards Winners:

Best New Artist– Elle Varner

Centric Award — Leah Labelle

Best Gospel/ Inspirational Performance — Whitney Houston & Jordin Sparks’  “Celebrate”

Best Hip Hop Song of the Year – Kanye West feat. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz “Mercy”

Best R&B/ Soul Female Artist – Beyoncé

Best R&B/ Soul Male Artist — Miguel

Album of the Year —
Frank Ocean’s Channel Orange

Song of the Year —
Tyrese’s “Stay”

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award –“Tonight (Best You Ever Had)”: John Legend feat. Ludacris

Best Dance Performance: Beyonce – “Love On Top”


CENTRICTV.com Winners:

Best Caribbean Performance — Sean Paul’s “Tomahawk Technique”

Best International Performance –
Estelle’s “Thank You”

Best Independent R&B/ Soul Artist or Group — Eric Roberson

Best Traditional Jazz Artist/ Group:

The Robert Glasper Experiment – Black Radio

Tony Bennett — Isn’t It Romantic

Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/ Group —
Esperanza Spalding-Radio Music Society


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You must be logged in to post a comment.